Me time – part 1

on

One evening while rummaging through the kitchen cabinets and sliding things around in the refrigerator, I realized that I had nothing to cook for dinner. Upstairs, I could hear Sweet P diving off the couch onto the floor, attempting one of her gymnastics moves. Her thunderous bumps all but cracked the ceiling (at least that’s what it sounded like to my sensitive ears) and Honey sat, unbothered in front of the television with his lifeline (iPad) in hand.

I decided, no, NEEDED, to jump in the car, and just drive. I ended up about 2 miles away at the grocery store. So much for a long road trip. I grabbed a cart and just pushed it up and down EACH aisle while trying to envision what we didn’t have at home. At the end of one aisle, I bumped into another gymnastics mom. Our daughters are in the same class.

Grocerystore1

“Hey! How are you?” I asked.

“Oh, I’m good. Just doing a little shopping.” She answered.

“I didn’t know you lived near here.” I mentioned.

“I don’t. I live down by the other store.” She said.

She noticed my wrinkled forehead.

“Oh, I had a coupon. For this store.” She smiled.

Then I noticed that she didn’t have any of her four children with her.

“No kids tonight?” I asked

“Nah, they’re home with their dad.” She answered.

“Mine too.” I confirmed.

We both gave each other a telling look.

“Me time?” I smiled.

“YESSS!” She quickly sighed like she was holding in a secret.

We both let out a heavy laugh, with our heads thrown back for a few seconds and then pushed on in opposite directions.

We were both at the neighborhood grocery store – With produce and salad bars, deli items, other parents, and rows and rows and rows, of…time.

Me time. Alone time. Without anyone asking for jelly beans and chewing gum, and Fidget Spinners, and crying to get in the cart, then huffing to get out of it. Alone with our thoughts to just think. Think about how good this feels, what blog post to write next, where our country is headed and who is leading us there, what the week ahead looks like.

It was only an hour. But it was just what I needed.

How do you steal away for ‘me time’?

 

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Janaka says:

    I love your blog. Thanks for sharing! And me time? I plan an errand, nail appointment (or even dinner with a friend) right after a meeting so I don’t feel bad not coming straight home!

    Like

    1. mackiac says:

      Thanks so much Janaka! Yes, that time is super important if everyone wants to live to see the next day. 😊

      Like

Leave a Reply

